High School Nationals

The High School National Championship Tournament (HSNCT) is the largest national quizbowl tournament, fielding a record 352 teams in 2018. It is hosted by National Academic Quiz Tournaments (NAQT), and its questions boast a higher amount of geography, current events, and popular culture in its question distribution than most other quizbowl tournaments. Unique among national tournaments, the HSNCT uses computation bonuses (but not tossups) and timed rounds, dividing matches into two halves of nine minutes each. Teams can qualify for the HSNCT in one of the following ways:

  • Finishing in the top 15% of teams at any tournament using an NAQT question set
  • Finishing at an NAQT state championship as the highest-placing team without existing HSNCT qualification
  • Applying for a wildcard bid

The National Scholastic Championship is a smaller national tournament, fielding 96 teams in 2019 (its last in-person iteration). It is hosted by the Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence (PACE). The question distribution places a greater emphasis on the humanities (specifically the fine arts and literature), and omits popular culture and sports questions entirely. The NSC incorporates bouncebacks into its bonus questions; bonus parts that a team fails to answer are “bounced back” to the other team, who is given a chance to answer the bonus part for the full ten points. Teams can qualify for the NSC in one of the following ways:

  • Finishing in the top 15% of teams at a PACE certified tournament
  • Finishing in the top 20% of teams at a PACE gold-certified tournament
  • Finishing in the top 25% of teams at a PACE platinum-certified tournament
  • Applying for a wildcard bid

The National All-Star Academic Tournament is unique among national tournaments in that players do not play with their schools, but in one “all-star” team of players from the same U.S. state. It is hosted by International Quiz Bowl Tournaments (IQBT). In 2021, the tournament fielded teams from seventeen states and provinces, as well as Asia.

  • Team California is organized by a committee of qualified individuals from Southern California Quizbowl and the Northern California Quizbowl Alliance
  • Typically an application process is announced around April under the Miscellaneous Quizbowl subsection of the forums for interested students to apply

The Small School National Championship Tournament is a tournament run by NAQT that, as its name implies, is designed for small schools by NAQT’s definition (generally <350 students in grades 10-12). Questions at SSNCT have similar tendencies to the aforementioned HSNCT questions, with the same ruleset that uses two nine minutes halves. Teams can qualify for the SSNCT in one of the following ways:

  • Qualifying for the HSNCT (see above)
  • Finishing in the top 30% of the teams from eligible schools at a high school varsity tournament or league that uses NAQT questions. 
  • Being the highest-placing team from an eligible school in any class or division of an official state championship with rules and questions similar to those of NAQT (but not provided by NAQT).
  • Applying for a wildcard bid

Below is a record of performances by Southern California teams at national tournaments in previous years.

2021HSNCTArcadia (5), Westview (12), Santa Monica A (19), La Jolla (49), Canyon Crest (72), Del Norte (88), Westview B (97), Francis Parker (154), Santa Monica B (174), Troy (219), Godinez (223)
2021NSCArcadia (13), Westview (31), Del Norte (37), Canyon Crest (53), Troy (78)
2021NASATCalifornia A (T3): Amogh Kulkarni (Arcadia), Karan Gurazada (Stanford Online High), Ryan Sun (Arcadia), Nick Dai (Westview); California B (T17): Rohan Shelke (Mira Loma), Keshav Kumar (Homestead), Richard Lin (Bellarmine), Supeng Wu (Lowell)
2021SSNCTMt. Everest (11)
2020NoneAll national tournaments were unfortunately cancelled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019HSNCTArcadia A (8), Canyon Crest A (19), Westview A (31), Santa Monica (49), Scripps Ranch (49), Del Norte (73), Westview B (97), Arcadia B (176), Canyon Crest B (181), Troy (277)
2019NSCCanyon Crest A (25), Canyon Crest B (47), La Jolla (63)
2019NASATTeam California (11): Karan Gurazada (Stanford Online High), Raymond Song (Canyon Crest)
2018HSNCTArcadia A (12), Arcadia B (138), Canyon Crest A (12), Canyon Crest B (20), Irvine (105), North Hollywood (139), Olympian A (51), Olympian B (140), Santa Monica A (105), Santa Monica B (152), Scripps Ranch (51), Troy NJROTC A (342), Troy NJROTC B (350), Troy NJROTC C (351)
2018NSCCanyon Crest A (5), Canyon Crest B (31), San Dieguito (42), Troy NJROTC A (94), Troy NJROTC B (95), Troy NJROTC C (96), Westview (29)
2018NASATTeam California (3): Daniel Wang (Canyon Crest), Jeffrey Qiu (Canyon Crest), Justine French (Crystal Springs Upland), Boopala Arul (Canyon Crest)
2017HSNCTWestview (9), Arcadia A (25), Arcadia B (65), Olympian B (97), Torrey Pines (97), Irvine (117), Santa Monica (124), Olympian A (154), Scripps Ranch (158)
2017NSCWestview (2), La Jolla (7), Canyon Crest A (13), Rancho Bernardo (41), Canyon Crest B (43), Cathedral (63)
2017NASATTeam California (4): James Malouf (La Jolla), Justine French (Crystal Springs Upland), William Scott (Homestead), Arianne Crosby (Los Alamitos), Keoni Rodriguez (Cathedral Catholic), Suprav Goswami (Mission San Jose)
2016HSNCTLa Jolla (21), Torrey Pines (53), Arcadia A (53), Del Norte (77), Olympian A (107), Irvine (121), Arcadia B (135), Olympian B (175)
2016NSCCanyon Crest (6), Westview (14), Rancho Bernardo (15)
2016NASATTeam California (2): Kion You (Rancho Bernardo), Rahul Keyal (Westview), Vincent Doehr (La Jolla), James Malouf (La Jolla)
2015HSNCTArcadia A (1), Westview (13), Torrey Pines A (21), Arcadia C (21), La Jolla (34), Del Norte (34), Santa Monica (77), Arcadia B (105), Olympian (113), Irvine (131), Torrey Pines B (137)
2015NSCArcadia (9), Rancho Bernardo (19), Canyon Crest Academy (28), Taft Charter (71), Del Norte (92)
2015NASATTeam California (1): Kevin Wang (Arcadia), Justin Nghiem (Arcadia), Bruce Lou (Saratoga), Kion You (Rancho Bernardo)
2014HSNCTArcadia A (5), Arcadia B (21), Westview (34), Torrey Pines (34), La Jolla A (34), Santa Monica A (53), Santa Monica B (77), Irvine (115), Madison (136), Rancho Bernardo (137), La Jolla B (248)
2014NSCTorrey Pines (20), Canyon Crest Academy (49), Capistrano Valley (64), Taft Charter (85)
2014NASATTeam California (3): Hidehiro Anto (Menlo), Aseem Keyal (Westview), Bruce Lou (Saratoga), Kevin Wang (Arcadia)
2013HSNCTArcadia A (33), North Hollywood (33), Westview (33), Arcadia B (50), Torrey Pines (50), San Dieguito (73), Santa Monica (73), Canyon Crest (102), Arcadia C (109), Irvine (121), Rancho Bernardo (130), Francis Parker (179)
2013NSCTorrey Pines (22)
2013NASATTeam California (3): Bryce Hwang (Foothill), DoWon Kim (Torrey Pines), Boyang Jiao (Arcadia), Sameer Rai (Bellarmine)
2012HSNCTCanyon Crest (21), Irvine (21), North Hollywood (21), Torrey Pines (21), Arcadia A (49), Arcadia B (49), Santa Monica (49), Arcadia C (101), Rancho Bernardo (202)
2012NSCTorrey Pines (27)
2012NASATTeam California (1): Ankit Aggarwal (Bellarmine), Nikhil Desai (Bellarmine), Sameer Rai (Bellarmine), Jonathan Lam (Escobar)